Mitta to Mt Beauty

Unfortunately the 2019 Mitta Mitta to Mount Beauty event has been cancelled and is unlikely to run again. Team Mt Beauty thanks everybody involved in keeping this event alive for almost 30 years. Thank you for the great memories!

Read all about our 2018 event below:

This iconic event was held on the last Sunday in October. A point-to-point mountain bike race from Mitta Mitta to Mount Beauty, via Scrubby Creek and Trappers Gap.

Despite having the reputation as a “gut-buster” the event continues to grow in popularity from humble beginnings in 1992. Local cyclist Tony Retra developed the idea of the Mitta Mitta to Mount Beauty after competing in the Briagalong to Dargo and back, some time ago! The first event attracted some roadies, a few xc skiers, and some very keen locals and was won by Tony. Word soon spread amongst the mountain bike fraternity that if you wanted a challenge – try the “Mitta”. Notable mountain bikers have won the event, including Rob Eva (1993, 1995), and the fastest time belongs to Murray Spink (2002) with a time of 1.45.46.

The 27th Edition of this Original ‘Dirty Road Race’ is round 4 of the Falls Creek Victorian Mtb Championship Series and will take place on Sunday, October 28, 2018. This year’s event will be from pub-to-pub starting in the Beer Garden of the Mitta Pub & finishing on the lawn of the new WestPeak Hotel in Mount Beauty and a revised route will offering more dirt and no highway. The Mitta Mitta to Mount Beauty is a unique and scenic riding experience and the 2018 event will not disappoint! Entries are open now via Entry Zone or read on for more information.


Full Course 50 km, $60 entry fee
Mitta Mitta Pub Start. Minimum age 15 years.Elite Men & Women
Open Men & Women
Masters 1/2 Men & Women (30-39)
Masters 3/4 Men & Women (40-49)
Master 5/6 Men & Women (50-59)
Masters 7/8 Men & Women (60-69)
Masters 9/10 Men & Women (70+) (not a series category)
U19 Men & Women
U17 Men & Women ($30 entry fee)
Short Course 30 km, $30 entry fee
Lords Creek Start. Minimum age 8 years. (Competitors 8-12 years must be accompanied by parent/ guardian)
Open Men & Women – Short course (not a series category)
U15 Men & Women – Short Course – ($25 entry fee)
U13 Men & Women – Short course – ($25 entry fee)

All bus passengers from Mount Beauty to Mitta start $25. Free shuttle to Lords Creek for short course competitors by arrangement

Junior Riders

Riders <16 yrs can compete in the short course 30km challenge. Juniors aged 12-15yrs can apply for an exemption to the age restriction to complete the full distance. Please follow the guidelines in MTBA’s junior policy and submit your application to at least one week before race day.

MTBA Licence 

You MUST have a valid MTBA Race Membership or MTBA Race Day Licence to partake in the event and it must be valid and current on the day of the event.

A MTBA race day license can be purchased during online entry process.

For more information on MTBA Memberships go to


Online entry is open now.

Alpine Shire Residents: Apply the local discount of $20 by entering the promo code “MM_Resident2018” just before check-out. Please note that the locals discount is only available online and will not be available for late entrants. Proof of local residency will be required at plate pick-up.

Event Schedule


  • 4-5pm at Mt Beauty bakery – Registration for late entries (late entrants will incur a $10 late fee) and number plate pick up for pre-entries.


  • 7am at Falls Creek Coaches, Tawonga South – Assemble for buses transfer, loading bikes on trailers and number plate pick-up for pre-entries.
  • 7:30am The bus departs at 7:30am sharp. Please do not be late.
  • 8:00am The Mitta Pub opens for breakfast and coffees.
  • ~9am Arrival at The Mitta Pub on bus transfer.
  • 9am-9:30am Number plate pick-up for pre-entries (Mitta Pub)
  • 9:50am Race briefing
  • 10am Race starts
  • ~12noon First riders cross finish line in Mt Beauty at the West Peak Hotel (lunch menu available)
  • From 1pm Presentations at the West Peak Hotel


PLEASE NOTE THAT THERE WILL BE TIME CUT-OFFS AT THE TOP OF BOTH CLIMBS. These will be based on a total completion time of <4.5 hours. Riders are encouraged to get on the sag-wagon at this point as the race course will no longer be marshalled after this time. Riders can continue unsupported if they wish but will be required to remove their race number.

Mitta to Mount Beauty - Lead Bunch 2007
Mitta to Mount Beauty – Lead Bunch 2007

Race Course

Mitta to Mount Beauty on

1 Comment on “Mitta to Mt Beauty

Comments are closed.